Toll Free: 1-800-745-9970

State Minimum Wage

The chart below lists the most up-to-date minimum wage rate per state. Employers are required to post the minimum wage as determined by the state and federal laws at all times for their employees. Minimum wage rates will increase as a result of CPI, Federal wage increase or cost-of-living accommodation.

Purchase the most up-to-date state and federal minimum wage posters now! Both the required state and federal minimum wage posters are included in our Complete Labor Law Posters. You can be in compliance with mandatory labor laws with just a simple purchase.

Click on your state below to purchase the Complete Labor Law Poster and to stay in compliance with both the required state and federal labor laws.

Note: The rates below are for general informational purposes only and should not be used as legal or professional advice. Please contact your local state agency for more information regarding your State Minimum Wage.

Federal Minimum Wage Info

  • $5.15 - Sept. 1, 1997
  • $5.85 - July 24, 2007
  • $6.55 - July 24, 2008
  • $7.25 - July 24, 2009

State Minimum Wage Rates

State
Minimum Wage
 200820092010201120122013201420152016
Alabama $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Alaska $7.15 $7.25 $7.75 $7.75 $7.75 $7.75 $7.75 $8.75 $9.755
Arizona $6.90 $7.25 $7.25 $7.35 $7.65 $7.80 $7.90 $8.05 $8.05
Arkansas $6.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.50 $8.006
California $8.00 $8.00 $8.00 $8.00 $8.00 $8.00 $9.00 $9.00 $10.007
Colorado $7.02 $7.28 $7.24 $7.36 $7.64 $7.78 $8.00 $8.23 TBD
Connecticut $7.65 $8.00 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25 $8.70 $9.15 $9.608
Delaware $7.15 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.75 $8.25 $8.25
District of Columbia $7.55 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25 $9.50 $10.50 $11.509
Florida $6.79 $7.25 $7.25 $7.31 $7.67 $7.79 $7.93 $8.05 TBD
Georgia $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Hawaii $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.75 $8.5010
Idaho $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Illinois $7.75 $8.00 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25
Indiana $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Iowa $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Kansas 4 $6.55 $2.65 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Kentucky $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Louisiana $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Maine $7.25 $7.25 $7.50 $7.50 $7.50 $7.50 $7.50 $7.50 $7.50
Maryland $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $$8.00 $8.7511
Massachusetts $8.00 $8.00 $8.00 $8.00 $8.00 $8.00 $8.00 $9.00 $10.0012
Michigan $7.40 $7.40 $7.40 $7.40 $7.40 $7.40 $8.15 $8.15 $8.50
Minnesota1 $6.15 $6.15 $6.15 $6.15 $6.15 $6.15 $8.00 $9.00 $9.50
Mississippi $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Missouri $6.65 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.35 $7.50 $7.65 $7.65
Montana $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.35 $7.65 $7.65 $7.90 $8.05 $8.05
Nebraska $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $8.00 $9.0013
Nevada 2 $6.85 $7.55 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25 $8.25
New Hampshire $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
New Jersey $7.15 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $8.25 $8.38 $8.38
New Mexico $6.50 $7.50 $7.50 $7.50 $7.50 $7.50 $7.50 $7.50 $7.50
New York $7.15 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $8.00 $8.75 $9.00
North Carolina $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
North Dakota $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Ohio $7.00 $7.30 $7.30 $7.40 $7.70 $7.85 $7.95 $8.10 $8.10
Oklahoma $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Oregon $7.95 $8.40 $8.40 $8.50 $8.80 $8.95 $9.10 $9.25 $9.25
Pennsylvania 3 $7.15 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Puerto Rico $6.55 $6.55 $6.55 $6.55 $6.55 $6.55 $6.55 $6.55 $6.55
Rhode Island $7.40 $7.40 $7.40 $7.40 $7.40 $7.75 $8.00 $9.00 $9.00
South Carolina $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
South Dakota $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $8.50 $8.50
Tennessee $5.58 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Texas $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Utah $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Vermont $7.68 $8.06 $8.06 $8.15 $8.46 $8.60 $8.73 $9.15 $9.6014
Virginia $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Washington $8.07 $8.55 $8.55 $8.67 $9.04 $9.19 $9.32 $9.47 $9.47
West Virginia $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $8.00 $8.7515
Wisconsin $6.50 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25
Wyoming $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25

1 Listed rate is for companies w/more than $500,000 gross annual volume of sales or business. Business with less than $500,000 gross annual volume of sales or business will have a minimum wage rate of $9.50.
2 Listed rate is for businesses that do not offer health insurance coverage to employees and $7.25 for business that offer health insurance.
3 Listed rate is for businesses that employ less than 10 full-time employees.
4 $2.65 rate is for businesses with gross revenue less than $500,000. Any businesses that have a higher gross will pay the current Federal minimum wage rate.
5 Alaska 2016 state minimum wage rate effective 01/01/2016.
6 Arkansas 2016 state minimum wage rate effective 01/01/2016.
7 California 2016 state minimum wage rate effective 01/01/2016.
8 Connecticut 2016 state minimum wage rate effective 01/01/2016.
9 District of Columbia 2016 state minimum wage rate effective 07/01/2016.
10 Hawaii 2016 state minimum wage rate effective 01/01/2016.
11 Maryland 2016 state minimum wage rate effective 01/01/2016.
12 Massachusetts 2016 state minimum wage rate effective 01/01/2015.
13 Nebraska 2016 state minimum wage rate effective 01/01/2016.
14 Vermont 2016 state minimum wage rate effective 01/01/2016.
15 West Virginia 2016 state minimum wage rate effective 01/01/2016.

* Based on information gathered from the Department of Labor.

Click to Verify - This site has chosen a thawte SSL Certificate to improve Web site security