New Mexico Mandatory Update: Minimum Wage
Posted on September 14, 2018 byLaborLawCenter™
The state of New Mexico has announced a mandatory update regarding minimum wage that affects labor law posting requirements for all businesses.
There is new information regarding many aspects of minimum wage, including updates for tipped workers and enforcement of the law. Furthermore, the entire poster has received a complete re-design.
The four primary points that have been updated include:
- Tipped workers: if an employee’s hourly tipped wage of $2.13 and his/her tips do not equal a minimum of $7.50, the employer is responsible to pay the difference.
- Enforcement: back wages can be sought by employees who have been underpaid in violation of the law, dating back a period of three years.
- Some types of employers and occupations are exempt from minimum wage requirements.
- All localities with a higher minimum wage than the state are now included in the notice.
Notice Date: September 4, 2018
Suggested Post Date: September 6, 2018
To protect against a potential violation and provide employees with the compensation they deserve, order the all-in-one New Mexico & Federal Labor Law poster, which includes this minimum wage update.
At Labor Law Center, we update our posters as required by law to ensure that your business remains compliant.
Bookmark the permalink