Vermont Increases Minimum Wage for 2020
Posted on November 20, 2019 byLaborLawCenter™
State Update Overview
|Date Updated||October 2019|
|Labor Law Update||The Vermont Labor Law Poster is now updated with a revised minimum wage.|
|What Changed||The new 2020 minimum wage is $10.96 per hour and $5.48 per hour for tipped employees.|
|Mandatory or Non-Mandatory||Mandatory|
|Updated Poster||Vermont Labor Law Poster|
The Vermont Department of Labor has issued a minimum wage update, effective January 1, 2020. The new notice raises the state’s minimum wage to $10.96 per hour and the Basic Wage Rate to $5.48 per hour for employees who regularly receive more than $120 in monthly tips. The notice also defines what individuals are considered service or tipped employees and the basic minimum wage that employers are required to support.
All businesses within the State of Vermont must display the new Minimum Wage Notice along with other state-mandated posting requirements where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. This change has been reflected in our Vermont & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate update. Failure to meet compliance and display the updated poster could result in fines.
Order the Vermont Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.
Bookmark the permalink