Connecticut Updates Minimum Wage and Further Protects Against Sexual Harassment
Posted on December 16, 2019 byLaborLawCenter™
State Update Overview
|Date Updated||December 2019|
|Labor Law Update||The Connecticut Labor Law Poster is now updated with an increased minimum wage and revised Sexual Harassment notice.|
|What Changed||Minimum wage has increased to $11. Additionally, emotional distress damages were added as a consequence of sexual harassment violations.|
|Mandatory or Non-Mandatory||Mandatory|
|Updated Poster||Connecticut Labor Law Poster|
As of October 1, 2019, The Connecticut Department of Labor increased the state’s minimum wage to $11, adding 90 cents to their rate from 2017 . This notice also further defines unique circumstances in which individuals could be compensated less than the minimum wage.
The State of Connecticut Commission for Human Rights and Opportunities continues to protect individuals against sexual harassment in the workplace. This notice outlines examples of sexual harassment violation and the potential civil and criminal penalties associated.
It should be noted that Connecticut law requires a written complaint filed with the Commission within 300 days of the alleged harassment for any event occurring after October 1, 2019 and within 180 days for any event occurring prior to October 1, 2019. Learn more about Connecticut’s sexual harassment protection at www.ct.gov/CHRO.
All businesses within the State of Connecticut must display the new Minimum Wage Notice along with the revised Sexual Harassment Notice. This change has been reflected in our Connecticut & Federal Labor Law Poster and does need an immediate update. Failure to meet compliance and display the updated poster could result in fines.
Order the Connecticut Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.
Bookmark the permalink