Vermont Announces Minimum Wage Increase and Publishes Revised Unemployment Insurance Notice
Posted on November 8, 2020 byLaborLawCenter™
State Update Overview
|Date Updated||October 2020|
|Labor Law Update||The State of Vermont Minimum Wage Law and Labor Law Poster.|
|What Changed||Increased minimum wage for 2021 and revised unemployment insurance poster.|
|Mandatory or Non-Mandatory||Mandatory|
|Updated Poster||Vermont Labor Law Poster|
In October 2020, the Vermont Department of Labor announced an increase minimum wage effective January 1, 2021.
Vermont Minimum Wage Law
- Currently $10.96 per hour.
- Increases to $11.75 per hour effective January 1, 2021.
Wage and Hour Exemptions
Employees may be exempt from wage and hour laws based on criteria associated with their salary, actual duties, and skills. Exempt employees neither receive overtime pay nor qualify for minimum wage. Vermont labor law defines these exemptions based on Executive, Administrative, or Professional status. Learn more here.
Also in October 2020, Vermont’s Unemployment Insurance notice was revised.
Vermont Unemployment Insurance Notice Update
- Revised notice includes information for those who are forced to leave their job as a result of domestic violence, sexual violence or stalking.
Vermont Labor Law Poster Updates
All businesses within the State of Vermont must display the new minimum wage and unemployment insurance notices along with other state-mandated posting requirements where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. This change has been reflected in our Vermont & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate mandatory update. Failure to meet compliance requirements and display the updated poster could result in fines.
Order the Vermont Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.
Bookmark the permalink