Nevada Updates OSHA Penalties
Posted on November 20, 2019 byLaborLawCenter™
State Update Overview
|Date Updated||October 2019|
|Labor Law Update||The Nevada Labor Law Poster is now updated with a revised OSHA policy.|
|What Changed||The cost of employer penalty violations as well as revised contact information for Nevada OSHA offices.|
|Mandatory or Non-Mandatory||Mandatory|
|Updated Poster||Nevada Labor Law Poster|
As of September 2019, the State of Nevada has issued a mandatory update to its Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSHA) Notice. The new poster outlines updated employer penalty costs based on the context of citation as well as a new address for the Southern Nevada OSHA district office.
As of this update, employers could now be subject to mandatory penalties up to $13,260 for each serious violation plus an optional penalty of up to $13,260 for each non-serious violation. Employers who fail to correct violations may pay up to $13,260 per day within a designated period of time. They may also be assessed penalties of up to $132,598 for each willful or repeated violation. In addition, employers found guilty of willful violation resulting in the death of a worker could receive a fine up to $50,000.
All businesses within the State of Nevada must display the new OSHA Notice along with other state-mandated posting requirements. This change has been reflected in our Nevada & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate mandatory update. Nevada employers are required to display the new poster where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. Failure to meet compliance and display the updated poster could result in fines.
Order the Nevada Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.
Bookmark the permalink