Minnesota Set To Raise Minimum Wage in 2018



Minnesota is joining numerous other states in the march to increase minimum wages in 2018.  Effective January 1, 2018, the state’s minimum wage will increase as follows:

Large employers* – Minimum wage increase of $0.15 per hour takes new minimum wage to $9.65 per hour.

Small employers** – Minimum wage increase of $0.12 per hour takes new minimum wage to $7.87 per hour.

*Large employers are defined as those with $500,000 or more in annual gross revenue

*Small employers are defined as those with less than $500,000 in annual gross revenue

The minimum wage also specifies a 90-day training wage for those under 20 years of age of $7.87.  The youth minimum wage for those under 18 is also $7.87.

This minimum wage increase carries a mandatory posting of the notice.  At The Labor Law Center we continually monitor local, state and federal posting requirements and will make them available as soon as we receive them.  The all in one Minnesota Labor Law Poster is now available with the 2018 minimum wage notice included.

The Labor Law Center also offers a worry-free service to our customers through our Poster Service Plan with automatic replacements.  What this means is that we monitor the state and federal postings and automatically send you updates when they are released.  It is that simple!

We also offer our clients our popular Education Center.  If you are new to labor law compliance or just wanting to keep up with the latest news and changes as they come out, this is the place to bookmark and visit regularly.

Bookmark the permalink