Connecticut Publishes New Schedule of Minimum Wage Increases

State Update Overview

Date Updated July 2020
Labor Law Update The State of Connecticut introduced upcoming minimum wage increases.
What Changed Added new minimum wages for 2022/2023 as well as information about exemptions in the minimum wage law and a new director.
Mandatory or Non-Mandatory Mandatory
Updated Poster Connecticut Labor Law Poster

In July 2020, the Connecticut Department of Labor published new minimum wage increases for 2022 and 2023 in the state Minimum Wage Notice. This is in addition to the upcoming increase this September.

Connecticut Minimum Wage Increases

  • Currently $12.00 per hour, in effect as of October 1, 2019
  • $13.00 per hour on September 1, 2020.
  • $14.00 per hour on August 1, 2021
  • $15.00 per hour on July 1, 2022

Wage and Hour Exemptions

Employees may be exempt from wage and hour laws based on criteria associated with their salary, actual duties, and skills, which means that they would not receive overtime pay nor qualify for minimum wage if exempt. Connecticut labor law defines these exemptions based on Executive, Administrative, or Professional status. Learn more here.

All businesses within the State of Connecticut must display the new Minimum Wage Notice along with other state-mandated posting requirements where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. This change has been reflected in our Connecticut & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate mandatory update. Failure to meet compliance and display the updated poster could result in fines.

Order the Connecticut Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.

Bookmark the permalink