Alaska Minimum Wage Increases January 1, 2018



Employees in Alaska will see a minimum wage increase on January 1, 2018, to reflect a .4% increase due to the Consumer Price Index.

Alaska Statute 23.10.065(a) stipulates that the state’s minimum wage will be adjusted annually for inflation using the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for the preceding calendar year.  The CPI for 2016 increased .4% leading to the 2018 minimum wage increasing from $9.80 per hour to $9.84 per hour.

Alaska’s minimum wage applies to all hours worked for all employees in the private sector (regardless of for profit of not-for-profit organizations.)  Tips do not count toward minimum wage and overtime pay applies for hours worked beyond the standard 40 hour work week.

Notice Requirement

There is a mandatory posting of the Summary of Alaska Wage and Hour Act notice which must be prominently displayed in the workplace where all employees can see.

At The Labor Law Center we continually monitor local, state and federal posting requirements and will make them available as soon as they are released .  The All-In-One Alaska Labor Law Poster is now available with all of the latest updates, including the 2018 minimum wage notice.

The Labor Law Center also offers a worry-free service to our customers through our Poster Service Plan with automatic replacements.  What this means is that we monitor the state and federal postings and automatically send you updates when they are released.  It is that simple!

We also offer clients our popular Education Center.  If you are new to labor law compliance or just wanting to keep up with the latest news and changes as they come out, this is the place to bookmark and visit regularly.

Bookmark the permalink