Vermont Mandatory Update: Minimum Wage, Sexual Harassment

Employers in the state of Vermont are required to update their labor law posters to comply with two key changes. The changes are related to the state’s minimum wage rate, as well as its sexual harassment notice.

The minimum wage changes include the following:

  • New minimum wage rate of $10.78/hour effective January 1, 2019
  • New basic wage rate of $5.39/hour effective January 1, 2019
  • Updated contact information

Notice Date: October 4, 2018

The Sexual Harassment Notice has been revised to cover all workers, as well as individuals performing services on behalf of another company within a given workplace.
This comes on the heels of a new law requiring state employers to update their sexual harassment policies in the following ways:

  • All workers are protected from sexual harassment, including contractors, interns, and volunteers
  • Employees are required to provide all new hires with a written copy of sexual harassment policies
  • Employers are encouraged to conduct sexual harassment training for new and existing employees (but not required)
  • Employers are not permitted to require employees to sign anything that restricts their ability to oppose a sexual harassment investigation
  • Employers are not permitted to restrict employees from submitting a sexual harassment complaint or partaking in any investigation by a federal or state agency

Notice Date: October 4, 2018
At Labor Law Center, we stay current with all state mandatory updates. By doing so, we’re able to help employers meet all labor law posting requirements.
As an employer in the state of Vermont, you can order our all-in-one Vermont & Federal Labor Law poster to ensure compliance with the above requirements.

Bookmark the permalink