Vermont Announces Increase in Minimum Wage Rates
Posted on November 6, 2021 byLaborLawCenter™
State Update Overview
|Date Updated||November 2021|
|Labor Law Update||The State of Vermont Minimum Wage Law|
|What Changed||Increased minimum wages for 2022|
|Mandatory or Non-Mandatory||Mandatory|
|Updated Poster||Vermont Labor Law Poster|
In November 2021, the Vermont Department of Labor announced an increase in minimum wages effective January 1, 2022.
Vermont Minimum Wage Law
- Minimum wage rate will increase to $12.55 per hour
- Basic wage rate for tipped employees will increase to $6.28 per hour
- Maximum tip credit allowed will increase to $5.88 per hour
Wage and Hour Exemptions
Employees may be exempt from wage and hour laws based on criteria associated with their salary, actual duties, and skills. Exempt employees neither receive overtime pay nor qualify for minimum wage. Vermont labor law defines these exemptions based on Executive, Administrative, or Professional status. Learn more here.
Vermont Labor Law Poster Updates
All businesses within the State of Vermont must display the new Minimum Wage Notice along with other state-mandated posting requirements where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. This change has been reflected in our Vermont & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate mandatory update. Failure to meet compliance requirements and display the updated poster could result in fines.
Order the Vermont Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.
Bookmark the permalink