Rhode Island Mandatory Update: Minimum Wage
Posted on December 28, 2018 byLaborLawCenter™
The state of Rhode Island has announced a mandatory minimum wage update that affects labor law posting requirements for all businesses, starting on January 1, 2019.
According to the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, the minimum wage for 2019 will increase to $10.50/hour. This is an increase from the $10.10/hour minimum wage that was in place for 2018.
The only exceptions to this law include:
- Full-time students under the age of 19 working in community service, librarial, education, or non-profit religious organizations
- Anyone who is 14 or 15-years-old and does not work more than 24 hours in a week
- Anyone working in domestic service where there is no employer/employee relationship, such as golf caddies and newspaper carriers
- Employees who receive gratuities
Notice Date: December 20, 2018
With so many labor law changes taking place on both the state and federal level, it’s important to always display the right posters at your place of employment.
With our help, you never have to take a compliance risk. Instead, you can display our all-in-one Rhode Island & Federal Labor Law poster.
Bookmark the permalink