Rhode Island Issues New Minimum Wage
Posted on October 22, 2020 byLaborLawCenter™
State Update Overview
|Date Updated||October 2020|
|Labor Law Update||The State of Rhode Island issues new minimum wage law.|
|What Changed||Increase in minimum wage.|
|Mandatory or Non-Mandatory||Mandatory|
|Updated Poster||Rhode Island Labor Law Poster|
In October 2020, the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training announced an immediate increase to the state minimum wage.
Rhode Island Minimum Wage Increase
- Prior to increase, $10.50 per hour, in effect as of January 1, 2019
- Increased to $11.50 per hour effective October 1, 2020
Wage and Hour Exemptions
Employees may be exempt from wage and hour laws based on criteria associated with their salary, actual duties, and skills. Exempt employees neither receive overtime pay nor qualify for minimum wage. Rhode Island labor law defines these exemptions based on Executive, Administrative, or Professional status. Learn more here.
Rhode Island Labor Law Poster Update
All businesses within the State of Rhode Island must display the new Minimum Wage Notice along with other state-mandated posting requirements where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. This change has been reflected in our Rhode Island & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate mandatory update. Failure to meet compliance requirements and display the updated poster could result in fines.
Order the Rhode Island Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.
Bookmark the permalink