Ohio Announces New Minimum Wage for 2021
Posted on November 2, 2020 byLaborLawCenter™
State Update Overview
|Date Updated||October 2020|
|Labor Law Update||The State of Ohio issued new minimum wage law.|
|What Changed||Increase in minimum wage effective January 2021.|
|Mandatory or Non-Mandatory||Mandatory|
|Updated Poster||Ohio Labor Law Poster|
In October 2020, the Ohio Department of Commerce announced an increase to the state minimum wage effective January 1, 2021.
Ohio Minimum Wage Increase
- Currently $8.70 per hour for non-tipped employees; $4.35 per hour for tipped employees
- Increases to $8.80 per hour for non-tipped employees; $4.40 per hour for tipped employees effective January 1, 2021.
Wage and Hour Exemptions
Employees may be exempt from wage and hour laws based on criteria associated with their salary, actual duties, and skills. Exempt employees neither receive overtime pay nor qualify for minimum wage. Ohio labor law defines these exemptions based on Executive, Administrative, or Professional status. Learn more here.
Ohio Labor Law Poster Update
All businesses within the State of Ohio must display the new Minimum Wage Notice along with other state-mandated posting requirements where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. This change has been reflected in our Ohio & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate mandatory update. Failure to meet compliance requirements and display the updated poster could result in fines.
Order the Ohio Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.
Bookmark the permalink