New Mexico Announces Increased Minimum Wage Rates for 2022
Posted on December 30, 2021 byLaborLawCenter™
State Update Overview
|Date Updated||December 2021|
|Labor Law Update||The State of New Mexico Minimum Wage Law|
|What Changed||Increase in minimum wage rates|
|Mandatory or Non-Mandatory||Mandatory|
|Updated Poster||New Mexico Labor Law Poster|
In December 2021, the New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions released a revised wage and hour poster with increased minimum wage rates for 2022.
New Mexico Minimum Wage Law Update
- Minimum wage increased to $11.50 per hour effective January 1, 2022
- Tipped employees must be paid at least $2.80 per hour effective January 1, 2022
- Minimum wage rates apply to all employees regardless of age or student status
Wage and Hour Exemptions
Employees may be exempt from wage and hour laws based on criteria associated with their salary, actual duties, and skills. Exempt employees neither receive overtime pay nor qualify for minimum wage. New Mexico labor law defines these exemptions based on Executive, Administrative, or Professional status. Learn more here.
New Mexico Labor Law Poster Update
All businesses within the State of New Mexico must display the new Minimum Wage notice along with other state-mandated posting requirements where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. This change has been reflected in our New Mexico & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate mandatory update. Failure to meet compliance requirements and display the updated poster could result in fines.
Order the New Mexico Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.
Bookmark the permalink