Nevada Announces Increased Minimum Wage and Daily Overtime Rates and Publishes New Rules to Be Observed by Employers Bulletin
Posted on July 8, 2020 byLaborLawCenter™
State Update Overview
|Date Updated||July 2020|
|Labor Law Update||The State of Nevada Wage Law.|
|What Changed||Increase in minimum wage and daily overtime rates.|
|Mandatory or Non-Mandatory||Mandatory|
|Updated Poster||Nevada Labor Law Poster|
In July 2020, the Nevada Department of Business and Industry set forth increased minimum wage rates for 2020 as well as for future years up to 2024 and set forth increased daily threshold rates for overtime. The revised rates resulted in the publishing of an updated Rules to Be Observed by Employers Bulletin.
Nevada Minimum Wage Law Update
- Minimum wage increased to $8.00 per hour for employees provided qualifying health benefits and $9.00 per hour if no such health benefits are provided.
- Minimum wage rates are set to increase by $0.75 each year on July 1st until 2024.
Nevada Daily Overtime Update
- Threshold rates for overtime increased to $12.00 per hour for employees provided qualifying health benefits and $13.50 per hour if no such health benefits are provided.
Wage and Hour Exemptions
Employees may be exempt from wage and hour laws based on criteria associated with their salary, actual duties, and skills. Exempt employees neither receive overtime pay nor qualify for minimum wage. Nevada labor law defines these exemptions based on Executive, Administrative, or Professional status. Learn more here.
Nevada Labor Law Poster Update
All businesses within the State of Nevada must display the new Minimum Wage notice, Daily Overtime Bulletin, and Rules to Be Observed by Employers Bulletin along with other state-mandated posting requirements where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. This change has been reflected in our Nevada & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate mandatory update. Failure to meet compliance requirements and display the updated poster could result in fines.
Order the Nevada Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.
Bookmark the permalink