Massachusetts Mandatory Update: Minimum Wage
Posted on November 6, 2018 byLaborLawCenter™
The state of Massachusetts has announced a mandatory update regarding minimum wage that affects labor law posting requirements for all businesses.
The primary change is a new minimum wage of $12/hour and an hourly tipped wage of $4.35/hour, effective January 1, 2019.
It also makes note of stepped increases in subsequent years:
- Effective January 1, 2020: minimum wage of $12.75/hour, hourly tipped wage of $4.95/hour
- Effective January 1, 2021: minimum wage of $13.50/hour, hourly tipped wage of $5.55/hour
- Effective January 1, 2022: minimum wage of $14.25/hour, hourly tipped wage of $6.15/hour
- Effective January 1, 2023: minimum wage of $15.00/hour, hourly tipped wage of $6.75/hour
Several minor clerical changes were also made, such as the phrase “the opposite sex” changing to “a different gender.”
Notice Date: October 29, 2018
All Massachusetts businesses are required to post these changes, so there’s never been a better time to order the all-in-one Massachusetts & Federal Labor Law poster.
Upon displaying this poster at your place of employment, you’ll have peace of mind in knowing that your business is in full compliance.
At Labor Law Center, we stay current with state and federal updates so you don’t have to!
Bookmark the permalink