Florida Announces Minimum Wage Increase
Posted on September 27, 2021 byLaborLawCenter™
State Update Overview
|Date Updated||September 2021|
|Labor Law Update||The State of Florida Minimum Wage Law.|
|What Changed||Increased minimum wage for 2021|
|Mandatory or Non-Mandatory||Mandatory|
|Updated Poster||Florida Labor Law Poster|
In September 2021, the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity announced a minimum wage increase to be effective September 30, 2021.
Florida Minimum Wage Law
- Minimum wage set to increase to $10.00 per hour effective September 30, 2021
- Minimum wage of $6.98 per hour for tipped employees
Wage and Hour Exemptions
Employees may be exempt from wage and hour laws based on criteria associated with their salary, actual duties, and skills. Exempt employees neither receive overtime pay nor qualify for minimum wage. Florida labor law defines these exemptions based on Executive, Administrative, or Professional status. Learn more here.
Florida Labor Law Poster Updates
All businesses within the State of Florida must display the new minimum wage along with other state-mandated posting requirements where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. This change has been reflected in our Florida & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate mandatory update. Failure to meet compliance requirements and display the updated poster could result in fines.
Order the Florida Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.
Bookmark the permalink