Colorado Updates Minimum Wage Rates and Announces New Workplace Public Health Rights Poster

State Update Overview

Date Updated December 2020
Labor Law Update The Colorado Labor Law Poster has been updated with increased minimum wage rates and a new Workplace Public Health Rights Poster
What Changed Increase in minimum wage rates and new poster mandate
Mandatory or Non-Mandatory Mandatory
Updated Poster Colorado Labor Law Poster

In December 2020, the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment published a new Overtime and Minimum Pay Standards notice to include increased minimum wage rates.

Colorado Minimum Wage Law Update

  • Minimum wage increased to $12.32 per hour or $9.30 per hour for tipped employees effective January 1, 2021

Wage and Hour Exemptions

Employees may be exempt from wage and hour laws based on criteria associated with their salary, actual duties, and skills. Exempt employees neither receive overtime pay nor qualify for minimum wage. Colorado labor law defines these exemptions based on Executive, Administrative, or Professional status. Learn more here.

Also in December 2020, the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment added a new workplace poster requirement for employers in the State of Colorado.

Colorado Workplace Public Health Rights Poster Mandate

  • New poster provides information on paid leave, whistleblowing and protective equipment.

Colorado Labor Law Poster Update

All businesses within the State of Colorado must display the new Overtime and Minimum Wage Standards and Workplace Public Health Rights notices along with other state-mandated posting requirements where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. This change has been reflected in our Colorado & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate mandatory update. Failure to meet compliance requirements and display the updated poster could result in fines.

Order the Colorado Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.

Bookmark the permalink