Alaska Increases Minimum Wage in 2020
Posted on February 3, 2020 byLaborLawCenter™
State Update Overview
|Date Updated||January 2020|
|Labor Law Update||The Alaska Labor Law Poster is now updated with a revised minimum wage.|
|What Changed||The new 2020 minimum wage is $10.19.|
|Mandatory or Non-Mandatory||Mandatory|
|Updated Poster||Alaska Labor Law Poster|
A ballot initiative passed by Alaska voters in 2014 requires the minimum wage to be adjusted for inflation each year, increasing this year’s minimum wage from $9.89 to $10.19 an hour as of January 1st, 2020. The increase reflects a 3% rise in the Consumer Price Index, resulting in the additional $0.30 an hour. It’s important to note that tips and gratuities cannot be applied against the required minimum wage.
The Alaska Wage and Hour Act Poster further details the individuals, businesses, and industries that are exempt from minimum wage and overtime requirements. For example, minimum wage and overtime requirements do not apply to:
- Employers with three or fewer people in the regular course of business
- People working in agriculture
- Youth under 18 who work less than 30 hours a week — just to name a few
For more information about Alaska minimum wage laws or to file a wage claim visit http://labor.alaska.gov/lss/whhome.htm.
All businesses in Alaska are required to display the updated Alaska Wage and Hour Act Poster as well as other state mandated information such as OSHA regulations in a place that is accessible and visible to all employees. These new updates have been reflected in the 2020 Complete Alaska State and Federal Labor Law Poster. Failure to meet compliance and display the updated poster could result in fines.
Order the Alaska Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.
Bookmark the permalink