Oregon Amends Minimum Wage Law and Publishes New Breaks & Overtime Notice
Posted on July 25, 2020 byLaborLawCenter™
State Update Overview
|Date Updated||July 2020|
|Labor Law Update||The State of Oregon Minimum Wage Law|
|What Changed||Increased minimum wage and new breaks and overtime notice.|
|Mandatory or Non-Mandatory||Mandatory|
|Updated Poster||Oregon Labor Law Poster|
In July 2020, the Oregon Bureau of Labor & Industries set forth increased minimum wage rates and published an updated notice for breaks and overtime.
Oregon Minimum Wage Law Update
- Minimum wage increased to $12.00 per hour for standard counties; $13.25 per hour for the Portland metro area; $11.50 per hour for nonurban counties.
Wage and Hour Exemptions
Employees may be exempt from wage and hour laws based on criteria associated with their salary, actual duties, and skills. Exempt employees neither receive overtime pay nor qualify for minimum wage. Oregon labor law defines these exemptions based on Executive, Administrative, or Professional status. Learn more here.
Oregon Labor Law Poster Update
All businesses within the State of Oregon must display the Minimum Wage notice and the Breaks and Overtime notice along with other state-mandated posting requirements where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. This change has been reflected in our Oregon & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate mandatory update. Failure to meet compliance requirements and display the updated poster could result in fines.
Order the Oregon Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.
Bookmark the permalink