New York Increases Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees

State Update Overview

Date Updated June 2020
Labor Law Update The State of New York Minimum Wage Law
What Changed Increased minimum wage for tipped employees.
Mandatory or Non-Mandatory Mandatory
Updated Poster New York Labor Law Poster

In June 2020, the New York State Department of Labor set forth increased minimum hourly rates that employers must pay to tipped workers.

New York Minimum Wage Update

  • In the hospitality industry, minimum hourly rates for tipped workers increased to $12.50 in NYC, $10.85 in Long Island and Westchester County, and $9.85 for the remainder of the state.
  • Overtime hours worked must be paid at time and one half the minimum wage rate, less the applicable tip credit, for tipped workers.

Wage and Hour Exemptions

Employees may be exempt from wage and hour laws based on criteria associated with their salary, actual duties, and skills. Exempt employees neither receive overtime pay nor qualify for minimum wage. New York labor law defines these exemptions based on Executive, Administrative, or Professional status. Learn more here.

New York Labor Law Poster Update

All businesses within the State of New York must display the Minimum Wage  poster along with other state-mandated posting requirements where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. This change has been reflected in our New York & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate mandatory update. Failure to meet compliance requirements and display the updated poster could result in fines.

Order the New York Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.



Bookmark the permalink