Changes to Paid Sick Leave in 2017
Posted on February 1, 2017 byKathy
Sometime last year, Erin’s mother was diagnosed with cancer. She could not, however, decide whether or not to take time off from work. The problem was before her–take time off of work to spend with her dying mother or run the risk of potentially losing her job. The implications of that decision are far reaching and one no one wants to face.
Finally, she took the time off to spend with her mother; but like many, she was unfamiliar with the necessary labor laws that would relieve her from the agony of having to choose between between her loved one and her job.
Below are some 2017 updates to state paid sick leave laws that employers and employees will want to know about. These laws all have posting requirements which are included in our All-in-One Complete Poster packages.
The Labor Law Center offers a worry-free service to our customers through our Poster Service Plan with automatic replacements. What this means is that we monitor the state and federal postings and automatically send you updates when they are released. It is that simple!
We also offer our clients our newly updated Education Center. If you are new to labor law compliance or just wanting to keep up with the latest news and changes as they come out, this is the place to bookmark and visit regularly.
|Paid Sick leave||Vermont||Bill signed into law in March 2016. Employers with 6 or more workers to pay as from Jan. 1, 2017. Those with 5 or less employees to pay as from Jan. 1, 2018. Accrual starts one year after recruitment of new employee. Existing workers have there’s beginning on the dates indicated depending on the size of the employer. Earned sick time to be accrued by workers for every 52 hours worked. Employer may however cut this down to 24 hours between now and end 2018. The cap to increase to 40 hours by Jan. 2019.||Jan. 1, 2017|
|Paid Sick leave||Oregon||Oregon paid sick time guarantees 40 hours paid sick leave to employees working for employers with 10 or more employees. It also provides 40 hours of unpaid sick leave to workers working for employers with 9 or less employees. In Portland, employers with 6 or more workers are obliged to offer similar paid sick leave.||Jan. 1, 2017|
|Paid Sick leave||California||The state law provides covered employees six weeks of paid family leave at 55% of their pay for the time off. Earned sick time to be used for injury and or serious illness of self or family member and to bond with new-born or foster child. Paid leave period begins Jan. 1, 2018 till Jan. 1, 2022. Certain family works, Independent contracts, Work-Training-and-Study programs however enjoy limited exemptions.||Jan. 1, 2017|
|Paid Sick leave||Massachusetts||In Massachusetts, earned sick leave applies to employers with 11 or workers or more. Those with 10 or less may offer the same but unpaid. Number of hours of earned sick time provided under the law is 40. Employees with disabilities to be covered up to 26 hours. Newly recruited workers to benefit after working 1250 hours.||Jan. 1, 2017|
|Paid Sick leave||Connecticut||Federal contractors paid sick leave added to the updated Connecticut paid sick leave regulation.||Jan. 1, 2017|
|Paid Sick leave||Columbia||What is new is that 12 month and 1000 hour requirement as a qualification for new recruits is abolished. The updated law also has expanded the definition of an employer and allowed more generous pay to an employee. In the update is the provision to review the time of paid leave allowed in future.||Jan. 1, 2017|
Bookmark the permalink