Rhode Island Increases Minimum Wage for 2018
Posted on December 29, 2017 byKathy
Rhode Island minimum wage employees will welcome an increase to the state minimum wage in 2018, as the rate increases to $10.10 per hour. This rate joins numerous other states as they usher in increases while the federal minimum wage remains unchanged.
Exceptions to the Rhode Island minimum wage include:
- Full-time students under the age of 19 working in nonprofit religious, educational, librarial or community service organizations.
- Workers 14 and 15 years old who do not work more than 24 hours per week.
- Workers in domestic service in private homes, federal service, volunteer services in education, chartiable, religious or non-profit organizations.
The minimum wage for tipped workers will be $2.89 less than the standard state minimum wage.
There is a mandatory posting of the Rhode Island Minimum Wage notice which must be prominently displayed in the workplace where all employees can see.
At The Labor Law Center we continually monitor local, state and federal posting requirements and will make them available as soon as they are released . The All-In-One Rhode Island Labor Law Poster is now available with all of the latest updates, including the 2018 minimum wage notice.
The Labor Law Center also offers a worry-free service to our customers through our Poster Service Plan with automatic replacements. What this means is that we monitor the state and federal postings and automatically send you updates when they are released. It is that simple!
We also offer clients our popular Education Center. If you are new to labor law compliance or just wanting to keep up with the latest news and changes as they come out, this is the place to bookmark and visit regularly.
Bookmark the permalink