Missouri Announces Increased Minimum Wage Rates
Posted on December 6, 2020 byLaborLawCenter™
State Update Overview
|Date Updated||November 2020|
|Labor Law Update||The State of Missouri Minimum Wage Law|
|What Changed||Increase in minimum wage rates|
|Mandatory or Non-Mandatory||Mandatory|
|Updated Poster||Missouri Labor Law Poster|
In November 2020, the Missouri Department of Labor & Industrial Relations set forth increased minimum wage rates for 2021.
Missouri Minimum Wage Law Update
- Minimum wage increased to $10.30 per hour for private employers effective January 1, 2021.
- Minimum wage rates are set to increase by $0.85 each year through 2023.
Wage and Hour Exemptions
Employees may be exempt from wage and hour laws based on criteria associated with their salary, actual duties, and skills. Exempt employees neither receive overtime pay nor qualify for minimum wage. Missouri labor law defines these exemptions based on Executive, Administrative, or Professional status. Learn more here.
Missouri Labor Law Poster Update
All businesses within the State of Missouri must display the new Minimum Wage notice along with other state-mandated posting requirements where it is sufficiently accessible and viewable to all employees. This change has been reflected in our Missouri & Federal Labor Law Poster and does require an immediate mandatory update. Failure to meet compliance requirements and display the updated poster could result in fines.
Order the Missouri Labor Law Poster to immediately include this required update.
Bookmark the permalink